Future- Dirty Sprite 2(DS2) Review

1. Thought It Was A Drought
2. I Serve The Base
3. Where Ya At featuring Drake
4. Groupies
5. Lil One
6. Stick Talk
7. Freak Hoe
8. Rotation
9. Slave Master
10. Blow A Bag
11. Colossal
12. Rich $ex
13. Blood On The Money
14. Trap Niggas
15. The Percocet & Stripper Joint
16. Real Sisters
17. Kno The Meaning
18. Fuck Up Some Commas

Today, we are doing things a bit differently. Apollo and I are doing a joint review giving our opinions on the new Future album "DS2(Dirty Sprite 2). After a great 3 mixtape run, Future returned with a 5 part documentary and this new album. Is it fire? Is it just okay? Let's take a look, shall we.

Future finally released a good album after two duds. I feel that Future has finally hit his stride because I don't think he will slow down anytime soon. He still has Ape Shit with Mike Will Made It dropping soon and a few more projects in the works. I feel that he is in a good place in his career and he is aware of what the fans want. Now, let's get into this beautiful body of work.

Dirty Sprite 2 is a mixture of high energy, debauchery, addiction and pain. Everything that makes Future the rockstar he is today. "Thought It Was A Drought" is a syrupy, slow intro track that is perfect in the vein of the first Dirty Sprite. In fact the first 4 songs are flawlessly cohesive. "I Serve the Base" is Move that Dope 2.0, it has a sinister feel. "Where Ya At" features Drake, who is the only person on the album. And it is not he was needed, but it's great to hear them two because of their Scorpion chemistry. "Groupies" is one of my favorite tracks by far,  because he's on a infidel blaze of glory, anxious to get back to his hoes post Ciara.

"Freak Hoe" is a reminiscent track of that early 2000's southern bounce with a modern trap feel. Future plays around with a sick rapid-fire flow on this track. In fact, Future has actually gotten better lyrically since Honest. He has been more thoughtful and insightful in his lyrics. He also pays homage to his Dungeon Family roots with "The Percocet & Stripper Joint", as the beat is reminiscent of Outkast. The guy actually works at his craft that's why he's receiving the recent attention. The album is greatness to me and I recommend everyone give it a listen.

Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Standout Songs: Groupies, Slave Master, Freak Hoe, Blow A Bag, Colossal

I have always enjoyed Future's music to an extent. I was never a huge fan or would listen to full fledged albums, but his mixtapes and singles were always good with me. After his "Monster", "Beast Mode", and "56 Nights" run, I was interested to see where he would go next. After his documentary dropped and his Huffington Post interview, I was a bit excited to hear what DS2 had to offer.

When the thumping boom of "Thought It Was A Drought" hits backed by the hilarious lyrics of "I just fucked your bitch in some Gucci flip flops", it was evident what type of album we were getting treated to from Future. Though I would be a bit concerned if someone said they said codeine come out when they took a piss, it is just Future spitting his most outlandish lyrics as usual. There lies the beauty of Future's music: he's not what you would call a lyricist, despite his ties to the Dungeon Family. He's in his own lane, creating hits, saying the most off the wall shit he can think of, and giving the traps something to bump while they bag up or smoke.

"I Serve The Base" is a sinister song, with a catchy simple hook, and while I'm not the biggest fan of "Where Ya At", there's no denying that it is infectious. The album reaches a high point with the trunk rattling "Groupies", which features a booming beat backed by a simple catchy hook. The period between "Lil One" and "Rotation" sort of all flows together for me, and I'm not really a fan of "Slave Master". The album picks back up with the first single "Blow A Bag", and continues with one of my favorite songs on the entire project "Colossal". The best song on this album to me is a tie between that and the next song "Rich $ex", which is extremely infectious and smooth.

The last few songs on this album are all anthems, as are most of the songs here. Future's strong suit is anthems and aggressive music, and with DS2, that's exactly what he gives you. It's not on the level of Kendrick's or A$AP's album, and it shouldn't be expected to be that way. It's fun music, perfect for the parties, the clubs, the traps, the streets, and most importantly the summer.

Rating: 7 out of 10
Standout Songs: Colossal, Rich $ex, Groupies, Thought It Was A Drought, Blood On The Money, The Percocet & Stripper Joint



Popular Posts