The Underrated: Big Daddy Kane's It's A Big Daddy Thing

By @1natethegreat4 

1. It's A Big Daddy Thing
2. Another Victory 
3. Mortal Combat 
4. Children R The Future 
5. Young, Gifted, and Black 
6. Smooth Operator
7. Calling Mr. Welfare
8. Wrath of Kane (Live)
9. I Get The Job Done 
10. Ain't No Stoppin Us Now
11. Pimpin Ain't Easy 
12. Big Daddy's Theme 
13. To Be Your Man
14. The House That Cee Built 
15. On the Move
16. Warm It Up, Kane
17. Rap Summary(Lean on Me Remix)

Big Daddy Kane released his second rap album in 1989 and it feels a mix of 80’s and 90’s rap. I believe this is his most successful album, as it went gold, and that’s the perfect word to describe this album. The overall production on this album is unique. A fusion of various samples throughout all of the album complement each track and make the album feel complete. Competition between him and Rakim adds fuel to the fire because this album is mainly upbeat and the overall flow involves multi-syllable rhymes.

This album leaves you grooving to the music until BDK decides to switch it up and leave the listener in awe. His flow is one-of a kind and many artists have tried this “syllabic-rap”, but Kane ultimately takes the prize. The album is a great listen to and listening to it from start to finish feels like the correct way. Topics of women, drugs, ghettos, and a pinch of police flood this album throughout and it all blends together perfectly.

Inserting saxophones, trumpets, piano, and synthesizers into rap takes patience and must be produced exquisitely and in this album, sometimes the instruments can be the highlight. Kane’s first three tracks burst out the gate and targets his opponents and haters. His rhymes are bold and aggressive, as they put me in personal awe. Also, the topic of when black men break out of their community and make it to the glamorous life, that they become targets is also prevalent.

From the police pulling over innocent black men because of them driving nice cars to Kane spitting “Out of order, conquer and slaughter/ you’re comin’ up shorter boy”, it takes lines like this to direct angst and anger to whomever attempts to bring him down. Kane shows that any opposition is inferior on all levels of skill through bravado and methods of lyrical intimidation. Kane dominates when he has the mic in his possession. Freezing competition with cold avant-garde lyrics paves the way of success for Big Daddy Kane down the road.

Kane’s consistent flow, delivery, and execution of his lyrics is spot on and he shows in this album that he can do it at any pace and still have the listener dancing or bopping their head to the music. I believe he had some standout tracks with sneering lyrics, but different tempo of the instrumentals provided. “Mortal Combat” shows original lyrics and he does not disappoint, slamming listeners with lines like “every word’ll be just like surgery/ cuttin you open so just rush to emergency/”. There is no mercy from Big Daddy Kane to his opponents.

In “Smooth Operator” he believes he’s the best MC in the game as he delivers his buttery-smooth lyrics about how he can please the women with his charisma and give ‘em what they want. Finally, in “Calling Mr. Welfare” he throws jabs at the black community who try to impress people with expensive clothing but live on welfare. The witty line of “I mean bad, we know your coat cost a lot/ You didn’t need to leave on the price tag” shows people who want to live lavish, but are still struggling. BDK doesn’t like people providing false impressions of the life they live. Similar to a woman holding a two thousand clutch with no cash in it: Priceless.

He also provides some funky jams in “Young, Gifted, and Black” , “Wrath of Kane” and “I Get The Job Done”. The funky saxophones and bass guitars synchronizing through these tracks is just music to my ears. In “Pimpin’ Ain’t Easy” guest appearances by Greg Nice, Smooth B, and Scoob Lover, keep listeners on their heels with all of these rappers throwing a verse on how they are self-proclaimed womanizers and can snatch the ladies with their presence. “To Be Your Man” is the surprise love jam that sits near the end of the album that has that R&B/Soul feeling and lets the listener relax after all of the cold rhymes and upbeat tracks thrown halfway through the album. The tempo changes with the next song, “That House Cee Built”, where it went from R&B to that 90's rave/club feeling with all the samples flowing throughout the song.

The album concludes with tracks like “On The Move” with a funky tenor and Scoob and BDK snapping again and “Warm it Up Kane” claiming that this was a warm-up and that he still has plenty of room to destroy you in the battle. At the end, he always takes the cake with more brash lyrics that would unanimously win in a rap battle.

Score: 9.5/10.  



Popular Posts